A lot of people know what a bail bondsman does. However, many people wonder how much a bail bondsman can charge. If you are one of those people, then read this article because it will explain fees related to bail bondsmen.
First, it’s important to note that fees vary from one company to the next. The group at this montana agent website seems to charge a higher amount than normal. This means one bails bondsman may charge far more or less than other bondsman, which is why it’s important to choose one after you have done research. If you don’t do research, then you could end up paying more than you have to. There are a few other factors that play a role in how much a bail bondsman can and will charge their customers.
Generally speaking, bail bondsmen charge 15% for a federal bail bond, while they usually charge 10% for charges brought forward by the state, and some bondsmen charge a $100 minimum. The minimum charge is in some states, such as Florida. This means that a bails bondsman may require you to pay them 10% or 15% before they post a bond for the full amount of it. The fee is compensation for the bondsman services and the fee is not refundable.
Some states do charge a flat rate of 15%, and North Carolina is one of those states. There are a few states that bill defendants for mileage, phone calls, gas and other things that is related the subject’s apprehension. This can lead to higher fees that are charged by a bails bondsman.
The Connecticut Insurance Department, located in the state of Connecticut, decides how much bail bonds cost. In that state, a bail bondsman can arrange a payment plan with their customers, and the minimum down payment is 35%. If the subject has an unpaid balance, then they have to pay it off within 15 months from the time they were bailed out.
However, there are a few states in which this isn’t the case and the bondsmen are the ones who have to pay forfeitures. If the full amount isn’t paid by the bondsmen, then they won’t be able to write bonds in the state where the amount wasn’t paid. Florida is one of those states that the amount has to be paid in full.
Some courts do accept 10% of the bond amount in cash, which is known as a cash bond. Also, if bail is large, then the bondsman can obtain security against the defendant’s assets. Not all states may allow this, as bail bonds law vary from region to region.
Now that you have a better idea of fees relating to bail, the only thing you need to do now is start shopping around for bail bondsmen in your state. It’s a good idea to find one before you even need their service because this will eliminate the need to having to find one when you are arrested and are allowed to post bond. Take your time when choosing a bail bondsman because you want to choose a good one.